Reflection

 

 

Over the period of learning and engaging in the unit Teaching and Learning in the Digital World, I have come to realize the importance of planning ahead and adapting quickly to be an effective teacher in a Digital world.

I understand that I need to have good basic skills in digital technologies; using different devices and programmes that are commonly used in schools. The ability to effortlessly use IWB, camera, PowerPoint, Word, download ipad apps and create iMovie’s is important to teach and engage my students using digital technologies. The importance of planning for outcomes, has become evident to me as I have tried to multi-task information and technologies at the same time in this unit.

Dedicating myself to be proactive to learn and find new technologies that could be integrated into my teaching pedagogy is a goal, so that I can differentiate and relate to all my students. In this way I will be able to motivate and inspire my students to be fearless with their own learning. A good digital pedagogy needs to be relatable to the age and phase of my students so that I can engage in information sourcing that is relevant to our tasks, as well as creative technologies that are interesting.

Over the course of this unit I have been apprehensive to try too many new technologies at once. Learning new technologies takes time and can be frustrating, so I tried to limit my exposure to too many new technologies as I would often forget the steps used in each, when simultaneously engaging. In future I will keep a small book that outlines the steps used for each application, that way it will be easy for me to access the applications often and be able to pass on the correct sequence and steps to students I am teaching to do the same. During this subject I have become more aware of the many ways information can be presented using a multitude of technologies. I am learning to converge one topic in a variety of ways which is much more engaging and interesting to the learner.

Most importantly I have come to understand that everyone will have a different level of digital ability and access to technology outside of the school environment. For this reason it is important to present my work and teaching of technologies in a systematic way and reach each student where they are at. I also need to give each student an equal playing field by using technologies that are accessible in the education environment to all the students.

 

Leave a comment